A teachable heart

I have a devotion app on my phone that sends a morning and an evening Bible verse followed with a short paragraph that talks about what the verse means and the lessons behind it. Tonight’s hit home with me.

The verse was 1 Peter 5:5 and it said: “In the same way, you younger men must accept the authority of the elders. And all of you, serve each other in humility, for God opposes the proud but favors the humble.”

Wisdom

The verse was followed by text that said this: “As much as we think we know it all, there is always more to learn. But we can only learn as much as we want to learn. We could be surrounded by the smartest people in the world, but if our mind and heart aren’t open to growing and maturing, then we can’t improve. Having a teachable heart allows us to serve others and give respect to those who have gone before us. When someone older and wiser extends advice and suggestions to you, how do you respond? If you find yourself stiffening at advice, take a moment to encourage growing a teachable heart in you.”

Sometimes I think I know everything. I’m a perfectionist and a control freak. (The first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem, right?)

When I talk to my grandparents or successful professionals, I’m always amazed by everything they had to go through to get where they are today. It’s in these moments when my 22-year-old heart is opened to the realization that I don’t know everything.

wisdom2

Whether in a business setting or a personal setting, take a moment to open your mind to learning something new.

My mom told me the other day that when she was my age she thought she knew everything. It wasn’t until she was in her forties that she discovered just how little she really knew.

– Alisha

Leave a Reply

