For the love of the race

This Monday has been a difficult one.

As many people struggle with Shannon’s death, all I can think about is what a beautiful and adventurous spirit she had. I was looking through her photos today and they’re basically all of her with friends outside. This girl LOVED the outdoors.

Of course, in true Shannon style, she has inspired me again.

Shannon

Shannon in her element.

I too am a lover of the great outdoors, but I’ve locked myself inside for the past year. I guess it’s due to stress, school, graduation, and now my internship.

But as I was thinking about it, I really LOVE being outside! When I’m outside, I’m my happiest.

I use to hike and run a lot. I loved every second of it. The wind, the sunshine, the feeling of accomplishment when you’ve pushed your body to its limits. I live in a really beautiful place and I don’t take advantage of it like I use to.

I’ve had a lot on my mind lately so I decided to try my old method for coping with stress and I went for a run today.

A trail I found on my run today,

A trail I found on my run today.

I have to say, I felt the best I’ve felt in months. It was after I finished I decided I wanted to get back into running shape and train for a 5K! I’ve never run competitively before, but why not? I’m a competitive person, so why not have a little fun?

I haven’t decided what race I’m going to do yet, but I’ll let you all know when I do. I’m really determined to not back out of this one.

Here’s my workout for week one:

Monday: rest (I didn’t do this because I really needed to run and I was just so excited)

Tuesday: run 1 mile

Wednesday: cross train or rest

Thursday: run 1 mile

Friday: rest

Saturday: run 1.5 miles

Sunday: run 20-30 minutes (easy) or cross train

If you’re a runner and have any suggestions, please share them!

Have a great week, y’all.

– Alisha

Leave a Reply

