Spicy Southwest Egg Rolls

We had a Christmas Snack-Fest at work today and one of the snacks I made was a batch of spicy Southwest egg rolls.

A friend of mine made these for our church Christmas party and I loved them!

So using the link she sent me, a little research and creativity, here’s what I came up with.

egg rolls 3

What I used:

1 red pepper (chopped)

4 green onions (chopped)

1 jalapeno (keep the seeds if you like spicy)

1 clove of garlic (minced)

1 ear of corn (1 cup of frozen corn will also work)

1 15 oz can of black beans (drained)

Cilantro (I used a lot, but add to your liking)

1/4 cup of sundried tomatoes

1 dash of cyan pepper

1 cup of the 4 cheese Mexican cheese

1 package of egg roll wrappers

How I made them:

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

2. In a large pan, sauté the pepper, onions, garlic, and jalapeno (I coated the pan with extra virgin olive oil before starting).

egg rolls3

3. Add in the corn, cilantro, sundried tomatoes, beans, and cyan pepper. Mix until warm.

egg rolls2

4. At the center of the flat egg roll wrap, add a spoon full of the mixture and sprinkle some cheese on top. Fold one corner to the center, then the corners, and roll.

5. Lay the rolls flat on a baking sheet.

6. Once you are finished preparing, bake in the oven for 15 minutes.

That’s it!

I served mine with salsa and sour cream, but I also think spicy ranch would be great.

Enjoy.

-Alisha

One comment

Leave a Reply

