13 Lessons I Learned in 2013

Happy 2014!

I hope you had a wonderful holiday season and you’re as excited about a new year as I am.

I spent my New Year’s Eve with some friends in Charlotte, NC and we had a great time. As I was driving back to the mountains I reflected on the many, many lessons I learned this year. 2013 was full of ups and downs, as well as major life-changing moments.

Rather than making a list of new year resolutions that I’ll never keep, I’ll share a few of these lessons in hopes that they will help me in 2014.

photo (4)

 1. Spending the majority of my paycheck in the first week of getting it [on things other than bills] is not a good idea.

I learned this quickly after getting my first “big girl” paycheck. Thirty days is a long time to go without moolah and Ramen Noodles just get old.

2. If I eat really badly and don’t exercise I WILL gain weight.

Duh.

3. Being alone is nice.

I wasn’t sure how it would feel to finally spend time alone after graduation since I spent the majority of my college career surround by people. At first, being alone just felt lonely and scary. Now, I drink up the opportunity to lay around in my matching pajama set like a freshly brewed cup of Joe.

4. I’m not ready to get married.

I know so many people who got engaged in 2013, especially during the Christmas/ New Year holiday season. When the first of my friends got engaged I thought, “awe how sweet? I hope that’s me someday…” blah, blah, blah… But when I actually think about being married, I break out into hives. I’m thankful I don’t have to base my decisions on someone else, or spend a ton of money I don’t have. Don’t get me wrong, I’m really happy for all of my friends who’ve found the person they want to spend their lives with, but it’s just not for me right now. So until that day, I’ll enjoy the free food and fun at all of your weddings.

5. Not eating meat makes me feel better.

A friend of mine encouraged me to stop eating meat for one week as an experiment. I did it and I feel awesome! It’s been almost one month since I started and I don’t see myself turning back anytime soon. Not only do I feel better, but I’m much more knowledgeable about what’s going into my body.

6. Being kind isn’t overrated.

We all have crap in our lives. We’re all going through something. Simple manners and a smile can make a big difference for a lot of people.

7. I’m not defined by how many likes I get on Instagram.

You vs. her is a dangerous social media game that I played and lost. I’ve had to remind myself many times that my self-worth isn’t defined by that tiny red heart.

8. It’s okay that I still have no idea what I want to do.

Figuring out what I want to do with my life and where I want to be looks like a giant dust ball full of misspelled words and broken geographic locations. But that’s okay. Embracing life as a journey rather than a race has made a BIG difference for me.

9. I should read more.

I always learn something or am inspired when I do.

10. I should be positive, especially when I don’t feel like it.

The saying “attitude is everything” has never been more true then this moment in my life. Finding one good thing is a whole mess of bad usually changes my entire outlook of a situation.

11. I don’t know everything.

I just chuckled as I typed that statement. Oh the lessons we learn when we simply zip it and listen!

12. I can tell a difference when I don’t go to church.

I’ve discovered that church is my happy place. My entire week is better when I go. I’ve learned that surrounding myself with positive people who share the same desire to know God more, keeps me on the path I want to be on. I’m really thankful for my church family.

13. I’ve overcome a lot of fear.

And I intend to keep doing so.

1530384_1480765232149866_1171257201_n

-Alisha

What did you learn in 2013?

5 comments

Leave a Reply

