Our Best Self // Part Two

10492505_1592201654339556_3226828697743526399_n

I always feel like my best self when I’m full of energy and in a great mood. It’s when I’m stressed and not in such a great mood that I start to question why I can’t be happy all the time. It’s in those moments I have to remind myself that sometimes all I can do is nothing at all.

Here are three more tips for achieving our best self.

4. Sweat it out

I was told last week that exercising (and actually sweating) three to four times per week for 30 to 40 minutes can be as effective as an anti-depressant in some cases. Not only does exercise help with diet and weight-loss, it enhances our mood, decreases our stress levels and increases our energy. I’m no personal trainer, but from my personal experience I recommend doing some sort of workout that will make you sweat, as well as yoga. But don’t beat yourself up. If you can’t or don’t feel like working out today, that’s okay. The last thing you need is to add even more stress to your life.

5. Do nothing

Do you have a place that is “your place?” I love a good used bookstore or coffee shop. If you don’t have a place, I highly recommend you find one and go there often. When the stress keeps piling on, sometimes the best thing we can do for ourselves is walk away and refocus. Part of the reason I started this blog was to help capture my thoughts. I encourage you to turn off your cell phone and start a journal, go on a hike, read a book, watch a movie, take a nap… anything you enjoy.

6. Develop an attitude of gratitude

I would never rank personal struggle from greatest to least. While it’s true that others have more stress and struggle than we do, it doesn’t dismiss that we have our own issues we deal with everyday. Life, however, is all about attitude. I encourage us to try to find one thing everyday that we are grateful for. While this won’t rid us of our problems, it will help us to remember that life isn’t all bad.

 

Find more tips for becoming your best self here.

 

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

