Because It Matters

cfc936b2865b243a0700ea34c98e0078

It didn’t take long to see how much Robin Williams meant to world after the news of his suicide became public. I’m typically not one who mourns over the loss of celebrities since I don’t actually know them, but this one really hit home. I guess it’s because he’s one of the first actors  I can connect with my childhood. Mrs. Doubtfire, Aladdin, Jumanji – all classics I adored growing up.

It’s hardest for me to believe someone who appeared to be so happy and was so good at making people laugh, wasn’t truly happy on the inside. Of course, none of us know what his personal life was like, but when things like this happen it makes me really stop and think. As I watched the news and Twitter last night, I wondered how many people I know and pass on a day-to-day basis who also have a strong exterior, but are crumbling on the inside.

I came to a few conclusions:

1. Everyone is fighting a battle we know nothing about. Be kind. Love. Smile. Encourage. We’ll never fully know or understand what others are going through, but it’s important to hold onto this:

Every. Single. Person on earth is battling something.

2. If you’re struggling with depression or having suicidal thoughts, get help. You’re life is too important not to. You matter too much. If you know someone who has seriously hinted at and/or attempted suicide, don’t brush it off. Tell someone.

My heart goes out to Robin’s family and friends. I can’t imagine the sadness they must be feeling. My heart goes out to each and every wife, husband, parent, grandparent, sibling, child and other family members who have ever dealt with the loss of a loved one to suicide. My heart goes out to each person who struggles with severe depression.

The most important thing to remember about depression is that it lies. I may never have the right words to say in this sort of situation, but I can say this: your life matters. It might not always feel that way, but it does.

Here are a few of my favorite tweets from last night:

IMG_1623 (1)

IMG_1625

IMG_1626

IMG_1627

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

