Give thanks

So it’s Thanksgiving. It happens every year. We eat way too much, stress over family members who drive us crazy and eat leftovers for about a week afterwards. But what does Thanksgiving actually mean?

Thanksgiving.      Thanks. Giving.      Give thanks.

According to Merriam- Webster, Thanksgiving is defined as the act of giving thanks.

Have you thanked someone today? Have you thanked someone today just because it was Thanksgiving, or would you have done it regardless? This holiday always challenges my thinking. Why do we only have one day set aside to say thank you? Should we not be thankful all the time?

Don’t get me wrong, I love Thanksgiving. It just makes me feel really shallow. As I sit and stuff my face, there are people around the world who are starving. As I complain about having to clean up after dinner, there are people who don’t even have a house with a kitchen to clean. But I say thank you when someone refills my drink or cuts me a slice of pie, so I’m good.

Here’s the thing: I think setting aside one day to be extra thankful is a good thing, but I want to try and show a little more gratitude. I’m really blessed. More than a lot of people in the world and I don’t say thank you nearly enough.

So let’s try something. Next time you are in a hurry to get your coffee and make it to class or work on time, make sure you stop and say thank you to the man or woman who made it. Next time you’re too busy to meet a friend for lunch, make time. Give your time to grow and maintain your relationships because at the end of the day, that’s all we really have.

I hope your day has been great. Mine sure has. Thanksgiving is an eye-opening holiday. I am always reminded of two simple things: say thank you, and give. Give yourself and your time to the ones you love.

Happy Thanksgiving!

– Alisha

Leave a Reply

