Social media detox

In an age where it’s a race to see who gets the most likes and retweets, I must say that my addiction to social media has brought about a much needed detox.

Why, you may ask?

I’ve found myself being extremely sleepy throughout the day and I’ve been trying to figure out why. As I was scrolling through my Instagram feed at midnight, it dawned on me…. “this is why you’re so sleepy.”

I stay up endless hours checking my social media sites when I should be sleeping.

While I don’t think I’ll stay away from the sites forever and I’ll still write for my blog, I do need a moment to breathe. A moment to catch up on sleep and focus my attention elsewhere. Like reading, working out, engaging in more face-to-face conversations, writing…

It’s a big world out there and I think it’s time for me to step away from my cell phone and computer and discover what it has to offer.

 

Leave a Reply

