Dear stress, let’s break up

I had a job interview on Monday that I was extremely excited about. I left the interview feeling anything but confident. You know how they say the best way to prepare for an interview is to think about potential questions you could be asked and how you would answer them? Well, I thought I was ready, but I was asked one simple question and I froze. Complete. Brain. Fart. I couldn’t think of an answer! My pause was obvious and after one minute of awkward silence, I finally pulled something out of the sky.

Stress


And, of course, after the interview I thought of the perfect answer to the question I choked on. Isn’t that how it always works?

The man who interviewed me told me to email him in the next few days to set up another interview with his boss and a couple of his co-workers. That’s a good thing, right? It wasn’t a flat out no. I emailed him yesterday and still haven’t heard back. Maybe that was his way of saying, ‘I’m saying this to be nice, but don’t expect a response.’

At this point, I’m a big ball of worry. With the thought of student loan payments right around the corner and all the ‘adult stuff’ that comes with life, I’m anxious to find a full-time job.

After the interview on Monday, I worried the entire car ride home: ‘What could I have done better,’ ‘I screwed that chance up,’ ‘I’m never going to find a job…’ You get the point. I was literally ‘driving’ myself insane. Pun intended.

For those of you who know me, you know I worry like it’s my full-time job. But you know what’s funny? That evening I expressed my fear and worry to a good friend of mine and this is the answer I received…

“But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

-Matthew 6:33-34, NIV

It’s amazing how much this verse struck home with me. Many times I find myself worrying about things that haven’t even happened yet. But the truth is, my worry comes from a lack of faith that God has my back. He’s proven to be faithful even when I have no faith. The truth is, I’m going to okay. I’m going to find a job and life will keep going. I seek inspiration and clarity everywhere I go and it’s verses like Matthew 6:33-34 that reignite my faith.

I was reading a blog I follow this morning called The Lipstick Gospel, and the following quote resonated with me in a big way.

“When life is sweet, say thank you and celebrate. When life is bitter, say thank you and grow.”

Yeah, I may have ruined my chances of getting that job, but at least I’ve learned a lesson for the next interview I get. And, who knows, I may not have done as badly as I think. Life is what we make it. The older I get, the more I realize that attitude is everything. We choose to be happy and we choose to worry.

Photo Credit: janellekeith.blogspot.com

Photo Credit: janellekeith.blogspot.com

Thank you, Lord for this realization and help me to put my faith in you during this journey of my life.

– Alisha

Leave a comment