Word of God

If you read my post from yesterday you know that I’m applying the five habits of the girl who won’t give up to my own life this week.

I was inspired to do this after reading Nicki Koziarz’s blog post The 5 Habits of the Girl Who Won’t Give Up.

Today’s habit was:

She approaches the Word of God with reverence.

“She opens God’s Word and believes each day He has something to speak to her about. There’s no questioning spirit when a friend texts her a Bible verse. She listens to sermons and teachings and doesn’t think of the friend who needs to hear that message, she knows there’s something there just for her.”

5Habits-1-of-11-1024x691

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been reading the Bible and think, “Man! Insert name here could really benefit from this verse!” I don’t stop and think about what it could mean in my own life.

As the supervisor of student-workers at my new job, I’ve been put in charge of a few students who are the same age as me and some that are actually older than me. It’s been a hard transition for them, as I can only assume taking instruction from someone who’s the same age as them or younger would feel a bit awkward.

Some aren’t taking to me as quickly as I would have liked for them to, causing my fear of failure to skyrocket. As much as I sympathize with them, this situation has caused me to doubt my ability to be a good leader and has caused me to hold back when interacting with them.

I have a daily Bible verse app on my iPhone that sends me daily devotions every morning and night. So today, with the five habits in the back of my mind, I opened my morning devotion ready for whatever God’s word had to throw at me. And wouldn’t you believe… He delivered.

photo

The verse I got was 1 Timothy 4:12: “Don’t let anyone think less of you because you are young. Be an example to all believers in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, your faith, and your purity.” (NLT)

All I could say was WOW!

The devotion went on to say that God works through all ages. Our example, the way we live, THAT’S what truly defines us.

This verse gave me a new perspective on coming to work tomorrow. I CAN do this! God has a plan for me while holding this position and I can’t allow my self-doubt to hinder that purpose.

– Alisha

Leave a Reply

